Country Music Performers - Your #1 Country Resource on the Net

Lady Antebellum Biography

Lady Antebellum Biography

Lady Antebellum is an American country music group formed in Nashville, Tennessee in 2006 by Charles Kelley, Dave Haywood and Hillary Scott. Kelley and Scott alternate as lead vocalists, while Haywood sings harmony vocals and plays guitar. The trio made its debut in 2007 as guest vocalists on Jim Brickman's single "Never Alone", a #14 hit on the Billboard Adult Contemporary charts. By the end of the year, they had signed to Capitol Records Nashville, and had released their first country single, "Love Don't Live Here". The song, which entered the Top 5 on the Hot Country Songs charts in May 2008, served as the lead-off single to the group'sself-titled debut album.

Lady Antebellum was founded in 2006 in the city of Nashville, Tennessee by Charles Kelley, Dave Haywood and Hilary Scott. Hillary Scott is the daughter of 1990s country music artistLinda Davis, while Charles Kelley (who had previously recorded two solo pop albums) is the brother of pop artist Josh Kelley. Charles moved to Nashville in the summer of 2005 fromWinston-Salem, North Carolina, where he'd been working construction with his brother John. Trying to become a successful solo country artist, Charles convinced his old middle-school classmate Dave to move to Nashville from Georgia in 2006 so they could write music together. Shortly thereafter, Kelley met Scott at a Nashville music club and invited her to join him and Haywood in the new group, which assumed the name Lady Antebellum.

The trio made the rounds in Nashville playing at various venues; eventually, adult contemporary artist Jim Brickman chose the trio to sing on his 2007 single "Never Alone", a #14 hit on the Billboard adult contemporary charts. The trio also wrote a song for the MTV reality television series "The Hills". Lady Antebellum was then signed in 2007 to a recording contract with Capitol Records Nashville. Their single "Love Don't Live Here" was released in September of that year, with amusic video for the song following in December. "Love Don't Live Here" is the lead-off single to the band's self-titled debut album; released on April 15, 2008, it was produced by Paul Worley and Victoria Shaw. As of May 2008, the song has reached Top 5 on the Hot Country Songs charts. In addition, Lady Antebellum has been signed as an opening act on Martina McBride's Waking Up Laughing Tour in 2008. The trio also won the Top New Duo or Group award at the 2008Academy of Country Music awards.

Top Unsigned Artists